From Hockey Mom to Head Coach

Black and white photo of the hinges on a door to an ice rink
Photo by Maurice DT on Unsplash

My son plays hockey in a house league in the U12/U13 division. Everybody who signs up gets to play. Each week there’s one practice and one game. It’s chill.

I’ve been wishing for better coaching on my son’s house league team for a while now. The best coaches are amazing. They show kids how to tie up skates and bring an extra stick for a kid to try. They don’t just work on skills, they build character.

The challenge for coaches are the competing demands on their time. They can’t always show up. These dads (yes, they’re all dads) have work, family, and leisure obligations. When they don’t show up, there’s a gap in consistency and continuity. And sometimes there's the “Select” team that they have to worry about.[1]

In September, an email went out looking for volunteers and coaches. There was one tidbit that caught my eye. There would be professional on-ice coaches for the first half of the season.

So I put up my hand to volunteer.

The on-ice help was important to me, because I don't play hockey. I can barely skate. I helped out the first season that my son played, so I know some basics. But that was a very long time ago and the kids are more capable now.

I think the league didn't take my offer seriously. I didn't get invited to the pre-season preparation sessions. The league convenor emailed me the week before the season started saying that he would let my son's coach know that I was willing to “help out.”

It wasn't what I was hoping for, but if they genuinely didn't need me as a coach, that would be OK with me.

Fast forward a couple of days and an email goes out to all the coaches. I'm on the list and I found out who would be the head coach and assistant coach for my son's team. I'm an assistant coach after all.

The head coach emailed us two assistant coaches and asked if one of us could take his role. He's already coaching a select team and he will have to miss a lot of practices.

The other assistant coach declined, because he has three kids playing hockey and would have trouble being consistent.

I said that I'd be happy to be head coach. I could keep folks organized, but I'd need help with the hockey.

The season lasts from October to April. I have a lot to learn.

[1] There are tryouts to get on the Select team and they play against teams from nearby leagues. The players get their names and a number of their choice on their jerseys. Kids on the Select team are required to be on a house league team. They have an additional 2-3 activities on their calendar and it’s not unusual for these to conflict with house league. About one third of the kids and coaches are involved in both teams.

Subscribe to Many Roads

Don’t miss out on the latest issues. Sign up now to get access to the library of members-only issues.
jamie@example.com
Subscribe